Therese's Beauty Blog

Beauty. Fashion. Weight Loss. Life.

Scents and "Cents"ability

I received samples of Avon’s new fragrance, Eternal Magic, and have been trying it out over the past week. In general, I struggle with fragrances. First, I am very picky about scents, as I am allergic to most perfumes and colognes. I have been in elevators with people who were a bit heavy-handed with the perfume and cologne and about 10 seconds into the elevator ride, my eyes water and I begin to sneeze. Sometimes it gets to a point where I have to hold my breath for the entire elevator ride. Second, fragrances rarely smell like they do in the store once I put them on. Many people are unaware that their body chemistry affects how different scents react on the skin. Anything that normally affects the smell of your skin–stress, hormonal changes, diet or medications–will affect what the perfume smells like on you. My guess is that if you eat a clean diet, are not on any medications that alter your hormone levels too much and are managing your stress well, then your chosen scent may smell more like it smells in the store once you put it on. This, of course, is just a guess, but since I am healthier now than I have been in past years, this problem may already be solved for me.

My other issue with fragrances is that most of them are so expensive:

Chanel No.5 eau de toilette spray 1.2 oz. : $50

Dior J’adore eau de parfum spray, 1.7 oz.: $75    (Yikes!)

Elizabeth Arden Red Door, eau de toilette spray 1.7 oz. : $45

Estee Lauder Beautiful, eau de parfum spray 1 oz. :$48

Ralph Lauren Romance, eau de parfum 1.7 oz. : $62

Avon Eternal Magic eau de toilette spray, 1.7 oz. : $24.

Sold. And I do not appear to be allergic to it. This may be the beginning of a change of heart about fragrances…

Filed under: Avon, Fragrance

Leave a comment